LibGuides: Diving and Life Support: Essentials

Journals

Aquatic Sciences - Research Across Boundaries This journal publishes original research, overviews, and reviews dealing with aquatic systems (wetlands, freshwater and marine systems) and their boundaries, including the impact of human activities on these systems. The coverage ranges from molecular-level mechanistic studies to investigations at the whole ecosystem scale, including fish ecology
Diving and Hyperbaric Medicine E-ISSN 2209-1491 Diving and Hyperbaric Medicine (DHM) is published quarterly jointly by the South Pacific Underwater Medicine Society (SPUMS) and the European Underwater and Baromedical Society (EUBS). Articles in DHM are embargoed for one year. During that time only registered members of EUBS and SPUMS have access to the journal or specific papers within the journal. The only information in the public domain during that time is the Abstract on MedLine and this website and is widely distributed by Crossref under the article’s DOI number.
IEEE Journal of Ocean Engineering Electronic ISSN: 1558-1691 Print ISSN: 0364-9059 The IEEE Journal of Oceanic Engineering (ISSN 0364-9059) is the online-only quarterly publication of the IEEE Oceanic Engineering Society (IEEE OES). The scope of the Journal is the field of interest of the IEEE OES, which encompasses all aspects of science, engineering, and technology that address research, development, and operations pertaining to all bodies of water. This includes the creation of new capabilities and technologies from concept design through prototypes, testing, and operational systems to sense, explore, understand, develop, use, and responsibly manage natural resources.
IEEE Reviews in Biomedical Engineering Electronic ISSN: 1941-1189 Print ISSN: 1937-3333 The IEEE Reviews in Biomedical Engineering reviews the state-of-the-art and trends in the emerging field of biomedical engineering. This includes scholarly works, ranging from historic and modern development in biomedical engineering to the life sciences and medicine enabled by technologies covered by the various IEEE societies.
Journal of the Acoustical Society of America Print ISSN: 0001-4966 Online ISSN: 1520-8524 The Journal of the Acoustical Society of America is the primary publication of the Acoustical Society of America.JASA publishes technical articles on sound, vibration, speech and related topics.
Marine Biology Electronic ISSN 1432-1793 Print ISSN 0025-3162 Marine Biology publishes original and internationally significant contributions from all fields of marine biology. Special emphasis is given to articles which promote the understanding of life in the sea, organism-environment interactions, interactions between organisms, and the functioning of the marine biosphere.
Ocean Engineering Print ISSN: 0029-8018 Online ISSN: 1873-5258 Ocean Engineering aims to provide a medium for the publication of original research and development work in the field of ocean engineering.
Respiration Physiology & Neurobiology Online ISSN: 1878-1519 Print ISSN: 1569-9048 Respiratory Physiology & Neurobiology publishes original articles and invited reviews concerning physiology and pathophysiology of respiration in its broadest sense. Although a special focus is on topics in neurobiology, high quality papers in respiratory molecular and cellular biology are also welcome, as are high-quality papers in traditional areas, such as mechanics of breathing; gas exchange and acid-base balance; respiration at rest and exercise; respiration in unusual conditions, like high or low pressure or changes of temperature, low ambient oxygen; embryonic and adult respiration; comparative respiratory physiology.
Undersea and Hyperbaric Medicine The Undersea and Hyperbaric Medicine is the UHMS' quarterly, peer-reviewed journal.
Underwater Technology (past issues) ISSN 1756 0551 View past issues of Underwater Technology. This publication is no longer in production; they have joined forces with the Marine Technology Society (MTS). The objectives of the journal were to inform and acquaint the Society’s members and other readers with current views and new developments in the broad areas of underwater technology, ocean science and offshore engineering.

Databases

ASME Digital Collection The ASME Digital Collection provides online access to journals, conference proceedings, and books published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Xplore Digital Library Includes access to the full text of IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1893 from: IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents; IEEE conference proceedings; IET journals; IET conference proceedings; IEEE published standards; IEEE Standards Dictionary Online.
IOPscience IOPscience is an online service for journal content published by IOP Publishing. IOPscience embraces innovative technologies to make it easier for researchers to access scientific, technical and medical content.
Marine Technology Abstracts The Marine Technology Abstracts database contains bibliographic information for more than 125,000 technical articles, reports, books, conference and transaction papers and other material on all aspects of maritime technology, dating as far back as 1940. Topics covered include: Ship and vessel descriptions; Design and construction; Ship powering, equipment, maintenance, repair, conversion; Cargo handling/port design and operation; Safety at sea/environmental protection; Coastal and ocean engineering/offshore technology; Fluid mechanics, hydrodynamics, hydraulics and aerodynamics; Ship resistance and propulsion, motions, seakeeping and manoeuvring; Structural response, material properties, corrosion and fouling; Naval vessels and defence technology.
National Sea Grant Library Online Catalog Database of citations to the holdings of the National Sea Grant Library in Narragansett, Rhode Island. The NGSL collection consists of about 30,000 Sea Grant funded titles on the topics of oceanography, marine education, aquaculture, fisheries, limnology, coastal zone management, marine recreation, and law. Included in the collection are journal reprints, books, technical reports, maps, proceedings, newsletters, advisory reports, handbooks, videos, CD-ROMs, computer programs, and more
Scopus Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (WHOI) Data & Repositories Includes information and datasets based at WHOI

Websites

Alert Diver Online Divers Alert Network (DAN), a nonprofit organization, exists to provide expert medical information for the benefit of the diving public.
American Diving Supply Navy And Military Diving Equipment Sales & Service.
Draeger: Military Diving Technology and Equipment Dräger manufactures medical and safety technology products. We protect, support, and save people's lives around the world in hospitals, with fire departments, emergency services, authorities, and in mining as well as industry.
JFD Life Support Systems JFD is the world's leading provider of a range of specialist maritime systems. Engineering expertise from the broad range of JFD's capabilities, uniquely enhance JFD's Special Operations technical and engineering capabilities.
National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, Medicine The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine are private, nonprofit institutions that provide expert advice on some of the most pressing challenges facing the nation and world. Our work helps shape sound policies, inform public opinion, and advance the pursuit of science, engineering, and medicine.
Naval Diving and Salvage Training Center (NDSTC) The Naval Diving and Salvage Training Center (NDSTC), located at Naval Support Activity Panama City, Florida, is the largest diving facility in the world. NDSTC trains military divers from all services.
NOAA Ocean Explorer The NOAA Office of Ocean Exploration and Research (OER) is the only federal organization dedicated to ocean exploration. By using unique capabilities in terms of personnel, technology, infrastructure, and exploration missions, OER is reducing unknowns in deep-ocean areas and providing high-value environmental intelligence needed by NOAA and the nation to address both current and emerging science and management needs.
ScubaBoard All about Scuba diving, by divers for divers.
Scuba Diver Life Scuba Diver Life is a leading global digital media company and publication that informs, inspires and entertains scuba divers and ocean enthusiasts. scubadiverlife.com.
U.S. Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA includes health hazards of hyperbaric conditions.
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (WHOI) is the world's premier independent organization dedicated exclusively to ocean research, technology, and education.

Books

Click the Books & EBooks Tab Above to see even more books.

Life Support Systems Design by Marshall Nuckols; Ace Sarich; William Marr; David Robillard
Call Number: *Available by Request
ISBN: 9780692604021
Publication Date: 2015-12-30
Scuba Diving Operational Risk Management by Cluadio Gino Fererri Scuba Diving Operational Risk Management is the first book dedicated to the practical application of risk management to diving of all kinds and at all levels. In seeking to maintain diver safety, inform rescue management procedures and learn from near misses a process for identifying and dealing with risks is vital. In this key text, former SAS Assault Swimmer Class 1 Gino Ferreri details the step-by-step procedure for pinpointing the real causes of dangers, and mitigating against them and their effects. Of great benefit to recreational, advanced and professional divers, plus anyone directly or indirectly associated with diving. All will find value in the principles and techniques contained in the book, which will remain relevant throughout their personal development and any future advances in equipment and approaches. Looks at diving risk management the SAS way.Includes a toolkit of ready-reckoners and templates.Contains information that aligns with the ISO 31000 international risk management standard.
Call Number: *Available by Request
ISBN: 9781909455528
Publication Date: 2024

Find Even More Books!

Request a Book

Professional Associations

Association of Diving Contractors International ADCI represents the commercial diving industry around the world. Founded in 1968, the Association of Diving Contractors International, Inc. was originally a small group of diving companies with a goal to create a nonprofit organization dedicated to the art and science of commercial diving. The establishment of industry-wide safe standards for commercial diving was the foundation upon which ADCI was built. Since then, ADCI has grown to encompass more than 600 member companies, furnishing services and/or support for the conduct of safe underwater operations from 41 nations throughout the world.
DAN: Divers Alert Network The world’s most recognized and respected dive safety organization, Divers Alert Network (DAN) has remained committed to the health and well-being of divers for 40 years. The organization’s research, medical services and global-response programs create an extensive network that supports divers with vital services such as injury prevention, safety and educational programs and lifesaving evacuations. Every year, hundreds of thousands of divers around the world look to DAN as their dive safety organization.
IEEE Oceanic Engineering Society We have three main values that drive our Society: Mentorship for Future Generations Community and Networking Leadership: Envisioning our Future Ocean
National Association of Underwater Instructors NAUI the National Association of Underwater Instructors, is a not-for-profit 501(c)(6) worldwide educational association dedicated to promoting 'Dive Safety Through Education'.
Navy Divers Association The purpose of this association is for the enjoyment of and passing along information to all active, inactive and retired Navy Divers and Diver Support Personnel.
Society for Underwater Technology a multidisciplinary learned society bringing together organisations and individuals with an interest in underwater technology, ocean science and offshore engineering.
South Pacific Underwater Medicine Society (SPUMS) The purpose of the society is: to promote and facilitate the study of all aspects of underwater and hyperbaric medicine; to provide information on underwater and hyperbaric medicine; to promote communication between members and to publish a journal; to convene members annually at a scientific conference and to hold meetings and other activities to inform, and to develop fellowship and friendship amongst members.
Undersea & Hyperbaric Medical Society The Undersea and Hyperbaric Medical Society (UHMS) is an international non-profit organization serving members from more than 35 countries. The UHMS is the primary source of scientific information for diving and hyperbaric medicine physiology worldwide.

Related Guides

Undersea and Hyperbaric Medicine

Start Your Research Here....

Request a TDNet/OpenAthens Account
Note: Available to Research Commons users at Atlantic, Carderock, Corona, Crane, DTRA, Indian Head, Keyport, Newport, Panama City, US Naval Observatory, and Office of Naval Research.

Search Google Scholar

Questions? Contact Us

Research Commons Staff

Email Me

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>