Deco for divers : a diver's guide to decompression theory and physiology by
Fully updated and revised. Award winning Deco for Divers provides a comprehensive overview of the principles underlying decompression theory. This book bridges the gap between introductory books and source scientific information. It provides the reader with a clear understanding of the decompression principles which apply to every dive.
Descriptive Physical Oceanography by
Introduces descriptive physical oceanography. Suitable for advanced undergraduates and graduate students, this title covers such topics as: the physical properties of seawater, heat and salt budgets, instrumentation, data analysis methods, introductory dynamics, oceanography and climate variability of the oceans and of the global ocean.
Diver Down by
A collection of true stories diving accident stories, most of them involving diver error and resulting in serious injury or death. Each of these tales is accompanied by an in-depth analysis of what went wrong and how you can recognize, avoid, and respond to similar underwater calamities. This unique survival guide explores the gamut of diving situations, including cave and wreck diving, deep-water dives, river and drift diving, decompression sickness, and much more.
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences by
Features coverage of climate, remote sensing, and data modeling, with consideration of economic and political aspects. This title includes approximately 500 articles that contain an introduction, a reference section, a glossary and many cross references to related material.
Environmental Oceanography by
The ever-increasing human impact on the environment, and particularly on the coastal zone, has led governments to carefully examine the environmental implications of development proposals. This book provides the background needed to undertake coastal oceanographic investigations and sets them in context by incorporating case studies and sample problems based on the author's experience as an environmental consultant
Essentials of Oceanography by
Essentials of Oceanography guides readers through the complexities of what lies beneath the ocean. With an interdisciplinary approach and accessible writing style, the text is engaging for all readers. The 12th Edition discusses the ocean’s biological, chemical, geological, and physical components for an in-depth understanding of this vast and elaborate topic. Complex concepts are made engaging with extensively revised art and interactive study aids that keep readers interested and excited about the material.
Handbook of Coastal and Ocean Engineering by
The handbook contains a comprehensive compilation of topics that are at the forefront of many of the technical advances in ocean waves, coastal, and ocean engineering. More than 110 internationally recognized authorities in the field of coastal and ocean engineering have contributed articles in their areas of expertise to this handbook. These international luminaries are from highly respected universities and renowned research and consulting organizations around the world
Introducing Oceanography by
This volume presents an introduction to the science of the study of the seas. The initial chapters describe the oceans and the forces at work within them. The authors then discuss the effects of light, the chemistry of the seas and the food web before surveying biological oceanography in the main oceanic regions. The final chapter looks at the methodology of ocean study. Technical terms are kept to a minimum and are explained in a glossary.
Introduction to Physical Oceanography by
For decades, previous editions of John Knauss's seminal work have struck a balance between purely descriptive texts and mathematically rigorous ones, giving a wide range of marine scientists access to the fundamental principles of physical oceanography. Newell Garfield continues this tradition, delivering valuable updates that highlight the book's resourceful presentation and concise effectiveness. The authors include historical and current research, along with a 12-page color insert, to illuminate their perspective that the world ocean is tumultuous and continually helps to shape global environmental processes.
Introduction to the Biology of Marine Life by
What is marine biology and why is it important? The Eleventh Edition of Introduction to the Biology of Marine Life answers these questions and inspires students to appreciate marine life and ocean ecosystems. Assuming no prior knowledge of marine biology, this entertaining text covers the essentials to a foundational understanding of marine organisms and their environments.
An Introduction to the Chemistry of the Sea by
Fully updated and expanded, this new edition provides students with an accessible introduction to marine chemistry. It highlights geochemical interactions between the ocean, solid earth, atmosphere and climate, enabling students to appreciate the interconnectedness of Earth's processes and systems and elucidates the huge variations in the oceans' chemical environment, from surface waters to deep water. Written in a clear, engaging way, the book provides students in oceanography, marine chemistry and biogeochemistry with the fundamental tools they need for a strong understanding of ocean chemistry. Appendices present information on seawater properties, key equations and constants for calculating oceanographic processes. New to this edition are end-of-chapter problems for students to put theory into practice, summaries to allow easy review of material and a comprehensive glossary. Supporting online resources include solutions to problems and figures from the book
Introduction to the Worlds Oceans by
A major objective of this text is to stimulate student interest and curiosity by blending contemporary information and research with basic principles in order to present an integrated introduction to the many and varied sciences used in the study of the oceans.
Life Support System Design by 
The near-Surface Layer of the Ocean by
The rationale for publishing a second edition of this monograph is that this area of research continues to show remarkable advancement. The new generation of synthetic aperture radar satellites provided unprecedented spatial resolution of the sea surface features. In addition, satellites to measure sea surface salinity have been launched. Computational fluid dynamic models open new opportunities in understanding the processes in the near-surface layer of the ocean and their visibility from space. Passive acoustic methods for monitoring short surface waves have significantly progressed. Estimation of the errors in satellite measurements of long-term global sea surface temperature trends due to processes in the near-surface layer of the ocean has become important for climate research.
Observing the Oceans in Real Time by
This book provides contributions from leading experts on the integration of novel sensing technologies to yield unprecedented observations of coupled biological, chemical, and physical processes in the ocean from the macro to micro scale. Authoritative entries from experts around the globe provide first-hand information for oceanographers and researchers looking for solutions to measurement problems. Ocean observational techniques have seen rapid advances in the last few years and this book addresses the need for a single overview of present and future trends in near real time and real time. First the past, present and future scenarios of ocean observational tools and techniques are elucidated. Then this book divides into three modes of ocean observations: surface, upper ocean and deep ocean. This is followed by data quality and modelling. Collecting a summary of methods and applications, this book provides first-hand information for oceanographers and researchers looking for solutions to measurement problems. This book is also suitable for final year undergraduate students or beginning graduate students in ocean engineering, oceanography and various other engineering students ... who are interested in specializing their skills towards modern measurements of the ocean.
Ocean Biogeochemical Dynamics by
Ocean Biogeochemical Dynamics provides a broad theoretical framework upon which graduate students and upper-level undergraduates can formulate an understanding of the processes that control the mean concentration and distribution of biologically utilized elements and compounds in the ocean. Though it is written as a textbook, it will also be of interest to more advanced scientists as a wide-ranging synthesis of our present understanding of ocean biogeochemical processes.
Oceanography and Marine Biology by
This text preserves the basic elements of the physical, chemical, and geological aspects of the marine sciences, and merges those fundamentals into a broader framework of marine biology and ecology. Existing textbooks on oceanography or marine biology address the companion field only cursorily: very few pages in oceanography texts are devoted to marine biology, and vice versa. This new book overcomes that imbalance, bringing these disparate marine science text formats closer together, giving them more equal weight, and introducing more effectively the physical sciences by showing students with everyday examples how such concepts form the foundation upon which to build a better understanding of the marine environment in a changing world.
Oceans and Health: Pathogens in the Marine Environment by
This interdisciplinary book describes in detail the sources physiology, molecular biology, dispersion, survival - and impact of diverse groups of viruses, bacteria, protozoa, and algae. The effects these microorganisms exert on humans and land animals - as well as fish, crustaceans, and corals - are discussed from basic and applied viewpoints, addressing both global and specific aspects of the topic
Ocean Studies: Introduction to Oceanography by 
Reef Life: a guide to tropical marine life by
"Discusses what coral reefs are, what makes them unique, where they are found, what plants and animals make up their food webs, and what impact humans have on these fragile ecosystems"
Scuba Diving Safety by
With self-rescues, buddy rescues, open-water resuscitation, and towing techniques, Scuba Diving Safety will become your most valuable diving companion. Covering a full range of underwater environments, as well as dangerous marine life, entanglements, and equipment failures, this vital resource is an essential reference for every underwater enthusiast.
Sealab by
The story of how a U.S. Navy program sought to develop the marine equivalent of the space station-- and forever changed man's relationship to the sea. We learn of men unafraid to test the limits of physical endurance to conquer a hostile undersea frontier-- and of a government unwilling to take the same risks underwater that it did in space.
The Silent World by
Before becoming the man who introduced us to the wonders of the sea through his beloved television series, Jacques Cousteau was better known as an engineer and the inventor of scuba. He chronicled his early days of underwater adventure in The Silent World—a memoir that was an instant, international bestseller upon its publication in 1954. Now, National Geographic presents a 50th anniversary edition of this remarkable book, allowing readers to once again travel under the sea with Cousteau during the turbulent days of World War II.
Wetsuit and Drysuit Maintenance and Repair by