LibGuides: Electronic Warfare: Essentials

Journals

C4ISRNET C4ISRNET is the premier content destination for defense and government communities to stay connected to technology and network innovations to ensure information dominance. Defense and Intelligence officials rely on C4ISRNET for information on advanced weapons platforms, sensor systems, and command and control centers that provide information advantage, battlefield dominance, speed of command and mission effectiveness.
Electronic Warfare (EW) from Breaking Defense Breaking Defense is the digital news leader on the strategy, politics and technology of global defense. We offer breaking news coverage, analysis and insight on news developments that military, political and industry decision-makers rely upon. It’s a new era in defense, where new technologies, new warfare domains and a rapidly shifting military and political landscape have profound implications for national security. Breaking Defense is your guide to these crucial developments, providing unparalleled expertise, depth and context.
IEEE Security and Privacy ISSN: 1540-7993 | eISSN: 1558-4046 IEEE Security & Privacy is the premier magazine of the IEEE Computer and Reliability Societies for informing their members about recent and forthcoming advances in information technology pertaining to security, privacy, and dependability. The magazine seeks creative and novel perspectives on industry practices, research directions, and policy and regulatory matters. In addition to feature articles, special and themed issues, columns, and departments, experts from our community of interest provide insightful commentary on current issues and paradigm shifts via virtual roundtables and podcasts.
IEEE Transactions on Aerospace and Electronic Systems ISSN: 0018-9251 | eISSN: 1557-9603 IEEE Transactions on Aerospace and Electronic Systems focuses on the organization, design, development, integration, and operation of complex systems for space, air, ocean, or ground environment. These systems include, but are not limited to, navigation, avionics, spacecraft, aerospace power, radar, sonar, telemetry, defense, transportation, automated testing, and command and control.
Information Security Journal: A Global Perspective ISSN: 1939-3555 | eISSN: 1939-3547 Information Security Journal: A Global Perspective, the official journal of ISC2, focuses on global, cutting-edge developments in research and practice. This publication helps information security professionals to remain current with new technologies, useful tools, and relevant research in policy and technology, in addition to providing insight into current and existing professional development issues.
Journal of Cybersecurity ISSN: 2057-2085 | eISSN: 2057-2093 The newly launched fully open access Journal of Cybersecurity publishes accessible articles describing original research in the inherently interdisciplinary world of computer, systems, and information security. The journal is premised on the belief that computer science-based approaches, while necessary, are not sufficient to tackle cybersecurity challenges. Instead, scholarly contributions from a range of disciplines are needed to understand the human aspects of cybersecurity.
Journal of Electromagnetic Dominance ISSN: 2766-1024 The Journal of Electromagnetic Dominance (JED) is the official publication of the Association of Old Crows (AOC), an independent, nonprofit, international professional association promoting public understanding in the science and practice of electromagnetic warfare (EW), signals intelligence (SIGINT) and related disciplines.
Journal of Electronic Defense ISSN: 2766-1024 Reports on industry news, technology trends and other developments in the global electronic warfare (EW) and signals intelligence (SIGINT) market. Coverage includes self-protection systems, improvised explosive device (IED) countermeasures, airborne electronic attack, command and control warfare (C2W), electronic intelligence (ELINT) and communications intelligence (COMINT) systems associated with submarines, surface vessels, ground vehicles, airborne reconnaissance platforms and space-based collection systems.
Journal of Information System Security ISSN: 1551-0123 | eISSN: 1551-0808 *Available By Request The Journal of Information System Security (JISSec) is a scholarly publication and an outlet for research in information system security
Military & Aerospace Electronics Magazine Military & Aerospace Electronics has been on top of commercial off-the-shelf (COTS) issues and continues to be the clear leader when it comes to coverage of COTS success stories, COTS failures, and COTS trends. Articles focus on how and when designers should use mil-spec, non-developmental-item, or COTS equipment and components. Feature articles cover timely issues of design trends, emerging standards, programs, budgets, contracts, and application success stories.
Progress in Electromagnetics Research (PIER) eISSN: 1559-8985 PIER published by The Electromagnetic Academy (USA), is a highly selective multidisciplinary journal with a mission to publish ground-breaking, high-quality, and new research and invited reviews of significance across all areas of photonics and electromagnetics.

Databases

ASME Digital Collection The ASME Digital Collection provides online access to journals, conference proceedings, and books published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) is an international learned society for computing, and it is the world's largest scientific and education computing society. This digital library offers full text of every article published by ACM and bibliographic citations from major publishers related to computing.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Controlled Site (DoD and DoD Contractors Only) DTIC Online Access Controlled is the DTIC gateway to an enhanced collection of Department of Defense (DoD) unclassified, controlled information. This includes science and technology (S&T) and research and engineering (R&E) resources.
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Xplore Digital Library Includes access to the full text of IEEE content published since 1988 with select content published since 1893 from: IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents; IEEE conference proceedings; IET journals; IET conference proceedings; IEEE published standards; IEEE Standards Dictionary Online.
Janes This portal provides access to the following Jane's resources: Jane's Fighting Ships Jane's Unmanned Maritime Vehicles C4ISR & Mission Systems: Maritime Jane's Defense Weekly Jane's Weapons: Naval Jane's High-Speed Marine Transportation Jane's Marine Propulsion.
Scopus Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.
SPIE Digital Library The SPIE Digital Library contains the world's largest collection of optics and photonics applied research. With more than 470,000 papers spanning biomedicine, communications, sensors, defense and security, manufacturing, electronics, energy, and imaging, the SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive research database available on optics and photonics research.

Websites

C4ISRNET: Electronic Warfare Articles C4ISRNET is the premier content destination for defense and government communities to stay connected to technology and network innovations to ensure information dominance. Electronic warfare is re-emerging in military operations, adding a new domain for battle. From the Pentagon to the battlefield, find the latest on EW here.
Congressional Research Services: Defense Primer - Electronic Warfare Electronic warfare (EW), as defined by the Department of Defense (DOD), are military activities that use electromagnetic energy to control the electromagnetic spectrum (“the spectrum”) and attack an enemy. The spectrum is a range of frequencies for electromagnetic energy. EW supports command and control (C2) by allowing military commanders’ access to the spectrum to communicate with forces, while preventing potential adversaries from accessing the spectrum to develop an operational picture and communicate with their forces. Some have argued that EW is a component of antiaccess/area denial (A2/AD) campaigns
Electronic Warfare - an overview from ScienceDirect These pages are created by ScienceDirect using heuristic and machine-learning approaches to extract relevant information from our extensive collection of content. We compile this information on a topic-by-topic basis providing the reader both depth and breadth on a specific area of interest.
Electronic Warfare: Lockheed Martin Electronic Warfare (EW) represents the ability to use the electromagnetic spectrum—signals such as radio, infrared, or radar—to sense, protect, and communicate. At the same time, EW can distrupt, deny and degrade the adversaries' ability to use these signals.
Electronic Warfare: Norhrop Grumman The military uses the electromagnetic spectrum — essential, yet invisible — to detect, deceive and disrupt the enemy while protecting friendly forces. As enemies become more capable and threats more complex, controlling the spectrum is increasingly critical. Staying ahead in this era calls for a new generation of capabilities. Northrop Grumman’s expertise in electronic warfare, cyber and electromagnetic maneuver warfare spans all domains – land, sea, air, space, cyberspace and the electromagnetic spectrum. Northrop Grumman’s multispectral, multifunction systems give warfighters superiority across the spectrum and allow for faster, more informed decisions.
Electronic Warfare from BAE Systems Electronic Warfare (EW) is the use of electromagnetic or directed energy and integrated cyber capabilities to carry out military and intelligence missions. The more rigorously a military force exploits the full electromagnetic (EM) spectrum – radio waves, microwaves, millimeter waves, infrared, visible light, ultraviolet light, and gamma rays – and cyber effects, the more successfully it can pre-empt adversarial threats and respond to attacks electronically.
Electronic Warfare Guide: Air University Library This research guide is not a comprehensive listing of sources, but is intended to be a starting point from which students can begin their research according to their specific needs.
NATO Topic: Electromagnetic warfare Military operations conducted in all environments use the electromagnetic spectrum to create effects that support military objectives. As a part of the battlespace, NATO forces conduct Electromagnetic Operations (EMO) in the Electromagnetic Environment (EME). EMO involves activities that exploit the EME to enable or enhance NATO operations and hinder the potential adversary's ability to do the same. As the combat arm of EMO, Electromagnetic Warfare (EW) activities provide military action that exploits electromagnetic energy to provide situational awareness and create offensive and defensive effects.
Tactical Electronic Warfare The Tactical Electronic Warfare Division (TEWD) is responsible for research and development in support of the Navy's tactical electronic warfare requirements and missions. These include electronic warfare support measures, electronic countermeasures, and supporting counter-countermeasures, as well as studies, analyses, and simulations for determining and improving the performance of Electronic Warfare (EW) systems.
What is Electronic Warfare? from L3Harris A century of innovation, securing the world around us. In a fast moving and increasingly complex world, L3Harris is anticipating and rapidly responding to challenges with agile technology – creating a safer and more secure future.

Books

Practical Geolocation for Electronic Warfare Using MATLAB® by Nicholas O'Donoughue This comprehensive resource provides theoretical formulation for detecting and geolocating non-cooperative emitters. Implementation of geolocation algorithms are discussed, as well as performance prediction of a hypothetical passive location system for systems analysis or vulnerability calculation. Comparison of novel direction finding and geolocation algorithms to classical forms are also included. Rooted in statistical signal processing and array processing theory, this book also provides an overview of the application of novel detection and estimation algorithms to real world problems in EW. The book is divided into three parts: detection, angle of arrival estimation, and geolocation. Each section begins with an introductory chapter covering the relevant signal processing theory (either detection or estimation), then provides a series of chapters covering specific methods to achieve the desired end-product. MATLAB® code is provided to assist readers with relevant probability and statistics, RF propagation, atmospheric absorption, and noise, giving readers an understanding of the implementation of the algorithms in the book, as well as developing new approaches to solving problems. Packed with problem sets and examples, this book strikes a balance between introductory texts and reference manuals, making it useful for novice as well as advanced practitioners.
Call Number: *Available by Request
ISBN: 9781630818883
Publication Date: 2022-01-01
Radar and EW Modeling in MATLAB® and Simulink® by Carlos Dávila, Glenn Hopkins, Gregory Showman This resource covers basic concepts and modeling examples for the three ⁰́₋pillars⁰́₊ of EW: Electronic Attack (EA) systems, Electronic Protection (EP) techniques, and Electronic Support (ES). It develops techniques for the modeling and simulation (M&S) of modern radar and electronic warfare (EW) systems and reviews radar principles, including the radar equation. M&S techniques are introduced, and example models developed in MATLAB and Simulink are presented and discussed in detail. These individual models are combined to create a full end-to-end engineering engagement simulation between a pulse-Doppler radar and a target. The radar-target engagement model is extended to include jamming models and is used to illustrate the interaction between radar and jamming signals and the impact on radar detection and tracking. In addition, several classic EA techniques are introduced and modeled, and the effects on radar performance are explored. This book is a valuable resource for engineers, scientists, and managers who are involved in the design, development, or testing of radar and EW systems. It provides a comprehensive overview of the M&S techniques that are used in these systems, and the book's many examples and case studies provide a solid foundation for understanding how these techniques can be applied in practice.
Call Number: *Available by Request
ISBN: 9781630819071
Publication Date: 2024-01-22

Click the Books & eBooks tab above to see even more books.

Professional Associations

Armed Forces Communications & Electronics Association International (AFCEA) Armed Forces Communications & Electronics Association International (AFCEA) is a professional association that connects people, ideas and solutions globally. AFCEA achieves that by developing networking and educational opportunities and providing them worldwide in an ethical manner. This enables military, government, industry and academia to align technology to meet the needs of those who serve in critical areas, which include defense, security, cyber and intelligence.
Association of Old Crows The Association of Old Crows is an organization for individuals who have common interests in Electronic Warfare (EW), Electromagnetic Spectrum Management Operations (EMSO), Cyber Electromagnetic Activities (CEMA), Information Operations (IO), and other information related capabilities. The Association of Old Crows provides a means of connecting members and organizations nationally and internationally across government, defense, industry, and academia to promote the exchange of ideas and information, and provides a platform to recognize advances and contributions in these fields.
Federation of American Scientists FAS envisions a world where cutting-edge science, technology, ideas and talent are deployed to solve the biggest challenges of our time. We embed science, technology, innovation, and experience into government and public discourse in order to build a healthy, safe, prosperous and equitable society.
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) A not-for-profit organization, IEEE is the world's largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity.
International Test and Evaluation Association (ITEA) ITEA is a non-profit, all volunteer, education association for the current and future Test and Evaluation workforce.
National Defense Industrial Association (NDIA) The National Defense Industrial Association drives strategic dialogue in national security by identifying key issues and leveraging the knowledge and experience of its military, government, industry, and academic members to overmatch capabilities to threats.

Start Your Research Here....

Request a TDNet/OpenAthens Account
Note: Available to Research Commons users at Atlantic, Carderock, Corona, Crane, DTRA, Indian Head, Keyport, Newport, Panama City, US Naval Observatory, and Office of Naval Research.

Find Even More Books!

Request a Book

Search Google Scholar

Questions? Contact Us

Research Commons Staff

Email Me

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>