Anti-Jamming Transmissions in Cognitive Radio Networks by
The author introduces the transmissions based on uncoordinated spread spectrum to address smart jammers in CRNs. The author applies game theory to investigate the interactions between secondary users and jammers while providing game theoretic solutions to suppress jamming incentives in CRNs.
Cognitive Electronic Warfare: An Artificial Intelligence Approach by
This comprehensive book gives an overview of how cognitive systems and artificial intelligence (AI) can be used in electronic warfare (EW). Readers will learn how EW systems respond more quickly and effectively to battlefield conditions where sophisticated radars and spectrum congestion put a high priority on EW systems that can characterize and classify novel waveforms, discern intent, and devise and test countermeasures. Specific techniques are covered for optimizing a cognitive EW system as well as evaluating its ability to learn new information in real time. The book presents AI for electronic support (ES), including characterization, classification, patterns of life, and intent recognition. Optimization techniques, including temporal tradeoffs and distributed optimization challenges are also discussed. The issues concerning real-time in-mission machine learning and suggests some approaches to address this important challenge are presented and described. The book covers electronic battle management, data management, and knowledge sharing. Evaluation approaches, including how to show that a machine learning system can learn how to handle novel environments, are also discussed. Written by experts with first-hand experience in AI-based EW, this is the first book on in-mission real-time learning and optimization.
Electronic Warfare Receivers and Receiving Systems by
Receivers systems are considered the core of electronic warfare (EW) intercept systems. Without them, the fundamental purpose of such systems is null and void. This book considers the major elements that make up receiver systems and the receivers that go in them.
Electronic Warfare Signal Processing by
The book focuses on autonomous anti ship missiles (ASM) attacking a naval fleet rather than airborne battles. It describes modern DSP algorithms that have been published by ASM development personnel from several nations and elaborates on the mathematical techniques and digital signal processing algorithms.
Elint: The Interception and Analysis of Radar Signals by
Combining and updating the author's two definitive volumes on electronic intelligence (ELINT), this is your indispensable reference on radar's role in ELINT. Starting with the basic theory of range equations and probability of intercept, the book examines ELINT systems characteristics, performance issues, and essential functions. It gives you new insight into PRI and intrapulse analysis so you can obtain better results and more data for identifying signals.
Emitter detection and geolocation for electronic warfare by
This comprehensive resource provides theoretical formulation for detecting and geolocating non-cooperative emitters. Implementation of geolocation algorithms are discussed, as well as performance prediction of a hypothetical passive location system for systems analysis or vulnerability calculation. Comparison of novel direction finding and geolocation algorithms to classical forms are also included. Rooted in statistical signal processing and array processing theory, this book also provides an overview of the application of novel detection and estimation algorithms to real world problems in EW.
The book is divided into three parts: detection, angle of arrival estimation, and geolocation. Each section begins with an introductory chapter covering the relevant signal processing theory (either detection or estimation), then provides a series of chapters covering specific methods to achieve the desired end-product. MATLAB® code is provided to assist readers with relevant probability and statistics, RF propagation, atmospheric absorption, and noise, giving readers an understanding of the implementation of the algorithms in the book, as well as developing new approaches to solving problems. Packed with problem sets and examples, this book strikes a balance between introductory texts and reference manuals, making it useful for novice as well as advanced practitioners.
An Introduction to Electronic Warfare; from the First Jamming to Machine Learning Techniques by
Since its creation at the beginning of World II, radars have forever transformed the practice of modern warfare. The evolution of countermeasure conducted by electronic warfare systems against radars and radars' corresponding counter countermeasures is an intriguing technical subject. This book provides a very accessible introduction to a broad range of radar and electronic warfare technologies. The subjects covered in this book range from early radar development to later technologies such as stealthy techniques, low probability of intercept radar, and machine learning. Historical events are used to illustrate the principles of electronic warfare and to help readers to apprehend contexts under which radars and corresponding electronic warfare techniques were developed.
Introduction to Modern EW Systems by
The second edition has been greatly expanded to include a wealth of new material, from remote piloted airborne systems, directed energy weapons, and noncooperative air surveillance, to electronic warfare (EW) radar band sensor next generation architectures, real-time data links, and smart jamming.
Model-Based Engineering for Complex Electronic Systems by
In the electronics industry today consumer demand for devices with hyper-connectivity and mobility has resulted in the development of a complete system on a chip (SoC). Using the old ‘rule of thumb’ design methods of the past is no longer feasible for these new complex electronic systems. To develop highly successful systems that meet the requirements and quality expectations of customers, engineers now need to use a rigorous, model-based approach in their designs.
This book provides the definitive guide to the techniques, methods and technologies for electronic systems engineers, embedded systems engineers, and hardware and software engineers to carry out model- based electronic system design, as well as for students of IC systems design. Based on the authors’ considerable industrial experience, the book shows how to implement the methods in the context of integrated circuit design flows.
The Multilevel Fast Multipole Algorithm (MLFMA) for Solving Large-Scale Computational Electromagnetics Problems by 
Practical Cyber Intelligence by
Cyber intelligence is the missing link between your cyber defense operation teams, threat intelligence, and IT operations to provide your organization with a full spectrum of defensive capabilities.
Practical ESM Analysis by
Written by a prominent expert in the field, this authoritative resource considers radar parameters and how they affect ESM systems. It describes the ESM environment, including types of radar, pulse density, the latest radar developments and how they will be seen by ESM systems. Different types of ESM systems are described, with methods of calculation of Direction of Arrival (DOA) of pulses. Conventional wisdom about RF scan strategies for narrow-band receivers will be challenged and new methods (proven to be effective in trials) will be proposed. The book describes ESM Antenna separation, which plays a significant part in the generation of DOA errors, with examples of the effects for different situations.
Practical Geolocation for Electronic Warfare Using MATLAB by
This text explores the practical realities that arise from the employment of geolocation for electronic warfare in real-world systems, including position of the target, errors in sensor position, orientation, or velocity, and the impact of repeated measurements over time. The problems solved in the book have direct relevance to accurately locating and tracking UAVs, planes, and ships.
Principles of Electronic Warfare by
Originally published in 1961, by a team of scientists and engineers from Convair led by Robert J. Schlesinger, this classic book still provides an excellent analysis of the principles of electronic warfare even today.
“During World War II, the rapid growth of military electronics had its start. Today, and in the foreseeable future, large-scale weapon systems depend and will depend on electronic technology.
The importance of these electronic weapon systems to the overall concept of warfare is often obscured in detailed discussions of specific systems. For this reason, a broad understanding of the principles involved is essential. It is significant that these principles involve both engineering sciences and military strategy. In electronic warfare the terms “radiation” and “detection” must be considered in the same light as “offense” and “defense” are in strategic and tactical warfare.”—From the Introduction
Radar and EW Modeling in MATLAB® and Simulink® by
This resource covers basic concepts and modeling examples for the three ⁰́₋pillars⁰́₊ of EW: Electronic Attack (EA) systems, Electronic Protection (EP) techniques, and Electronic Support (ES). It develops techniques for the modeling and simulation (M&S) of modern radar and electronic warfare (EW) systems and reviews radar principles, including the radar equation. M&S techniques are introduced, and example models developed in MATLAB and Simulink are presented and discussed in detail. These individual models are combined to create a full end-to-end engineering engagement simulation between a pulse-Doppler radar and a target. The radar-target engagement model is extended to include jamming models and is used to illustrate the interaction between radar and jamming signals and the impact on radar detection and tracking. In addition, several classic EA techniques are introduced and modeled, and the effects on radar performance are explored. This book is a valuable resource for engineers, scientists, and managers who are involved in the design, development, or testing of radar and EW systems. It provides a comprehensive overview of the M&S techniques that are used in these systems, and the book's many examples and case studies provide a solid foundation for understanding how these techniques can be applied in practice.
Redefining Information Warfare Boundaries for an Army in a Wireless World by
An examination of network operations, information operations, and the more focused areas of electronic warfare, signals intelligence, electromagnetic spectrum operations, public affairs, and psychological operations in the U.S. military found significant overlap that could inform the development of future Army doctrine in these areas. In clarifying the prevailing boundaries between these areas of interest, it is possible to predict the progression of these boundaries in the near future. The investigation also entailed developing new definitions that better capture this overlap for such concepts as information warfare.
RF electronics for electronic warfare by
This exciting new resource investigates the function of RF communication in electronic warfare systems. The book provides in-depth coverage of how RF signals must be constructed to perform jamming missions, which prevent a receiver from properly extracting a target signal. Technical descriptions of oscillators and modulators, which generate the RF signals, are presented and explored. Power supplies that generate adequate power for fueling high power amplifiers are also described and their operations investigated.
Oscillator basics, including principles of oscillator operation, phase locked loop synthesizers and direct digital synthesis are examined. Fundamentals of RF communications, including power supplies for RF power amplifiers, are included, making it useful for both novice and advanced practitioners. Written by a prominent expert in the field, this authoritative book is the first available that combines the topics of electronic warfare and oscillator design and analysis.
SiGe-Based Re-engineering of Electronic Warfare Subsystems by
This book equips readers with a thorough understanding of the applicability of new-generation silicon-germanium (SiGe) electronic subsystems for the military purposes of electronic warfare and defensive countermeasures. The theoretical and technical background is extensively explained and all aspects of the integration of SiGe as an enabling technology for maritime, land, and airborne (including space) electronic warfare are addressed, including research, design, development, and implementation. The coverage is supported by mathematical derivations, informative illustrations, practical examples, and case studies. While SiGe technology provides speed, performance, and price advantages in many markets, sharing of information on its use in electronic warfare systems has to date been limited, especially in developing nations. This book will therefore be warmly welcomed as an engineering guideline that focuses especially on the speed and reliability of current-generation SiGe circuits and highlights emerging innovations that will help to ensure the sustainable long-term integration of SiGe into electronic warfare.
Tactical Wireless Communications and Networks by 
War in the Fourth Dimension by
Based on newly declassified records and interviews with key participants. Covers U.S. involvement in conflicts from Vietnam to Kosovo.
Wireless and Guided Wave Electromagnetics by
Wireless communications allow high-speed mobile access to a global Internet based on ultra-wideband backbone intercontinental and terrestrial networks. Both of these environments support the carrying of information via electromagnetic waves that are wireless (in free air) or guided through optical fibers. Wireless and Guided Wave Electromagnetics: Fundamentals and Applications explores the fundamental aspects of electromagnetic waves in wireless media and wired guided media. This is an essential subject for engineers and physicists working with communication technologies, mobile networks, and optical communications.
EW 101: A First Course in Electronic Warfare by
EW 101 has been a popular column in the "Journal of Electronic Defense" for a number of years. This compilation of tutorial articles from JED provides introductory level electronic warfare instruction for students of the discipline.
EW 102: A Second Course in Electronic Warfare by
Serving as a continuation of the bestselling book EW 101: A First Course in Electronic Warfare, this new volume is a second installment of popular tutorials featured in the Journal of Electronic Defense
EW 103: A Third Course in Electronic Warfare by
This book covers the practical aspects of electronic warfare against enemy communication. From communications math, receiving systems, and signals, to communications emitter location, intercept, and jamming, this book covers the key topics in the field.
EW 104: A Fourth Course in Electronic Warfare by
The fourth book in the bestselling Artech House EW 100 series is dedicated to reviewing legacy threats and discussing new threats which have arisen since Y2K in communications, radar, and IR threats.
Ew 105: Space Electronic Warfare by
The fifth book in the bestselling Artech House EW 100 series explores electronic warfare (EW) in space. Practical problems & ndash; including intercept and jamming of hostile signals transmitted from the Earth's surface and the vulnerability of satellite links to attack from the Earth's surface are discussed. Spherical trigonometry is covered to provide the background necessary to understand the scope of satellite problems. Orbit mechanics, specifically the way the Earth and its satellites revolve around one another, is also explained. The basics of radio propagation and how it applies to communications Electronic Warfare are demonstrated, as well as the special considerations that apply to radio transmission to and from an Earth satellite. Satellite links and link vulnerability are discussed. & nbsp; Readers learn how to calculate the distance over which a satellite can view as a function of its orbital parameters, how long the satellite can see that point, and the frequency shift in signals received by the satellite or an Earth based receiver. EW applications of orbit mechanics, satellite links, radio propagation and link vulnerability. Written by an expert in the field, this book is useful for technical and non-technical professionals.