LibGuides: Undersea and Hyperbaric Medicine : Essentials

Journals

Aquatic Sciences - Research Across Boundaries This journal publishes original research, overviews, and reviews dealing with aquatic systems (wetlands, freshwater and marine systems) and their boundaries, including the impact of human activities on these systems. The coverage ranges from molecular-level mechanistic studies to investigations at the whole ecosystem scale, including fish ecology
Diving and Hyperbaric Medicine E-ISSN 2209-1491 Diving and Hyperbaric Medicine (DHM) is published quarterly jointly by the South Pacific Underwater Medicine Society (SPUMS) and the European Underwater and Baromedical Society (EUBS). Articles in DHM are embargoed for one year. During that time only registered members of EUBS and SPUMS have access to the journal or specific papers within the journal. The only information in the public domain during that time is the Abstract on MedLine and this website and is widely distributed by Crossref under the article’s DOI number.
Extreme Physiology & Medicine Extreme Physiology & Medicine has ceased to be published by BioMed Central as of 28th January 2018. BioMed Central will continue to host an archive of all articles previously published in the journal, and all articles published in Extreme Physiology & Medicine during its time with BioMed Central will remain fully searchable via the BioMed Central website.
Frontiers in Physiology Frontiers in Physiology is the second most-cited journal in its field with more than 200,000 citations and 79 million views across 13,000 articles.
IEEE Reviews in Biomedical Engineering Electronic ISSN: 1941-1189 Print ISSN: 1937-3333 The IEEE Reviews in Biomedical Engineering reviews the state-of-the-art and trends in the emerging field of biomedical engineering. This includes scholarly works, ranging from historic and modern development in biomedical engineering to the life sciences and medicine enabled by technologies covered by the various IEEE societies.
Occupational and Environmental Medicine OEM is an international peer reviewed journal that publishes high quality research relating to the full range of chemical, physical, ergonomic, biological and psychosocial hazards in the workplace and to environmental contaminants and their health effects.
Respiration Physiology & Neurobiology Online ISSN: 1878-1519 Print ISSN: 1569-9048 Respiratory Physiology & Neurobiology publishes original articles and invited reviews concerning physiology and pathophysiology of respiration in its broadest sense. Although a special focus is on topics in neurobiology, high quality papers in respiratory molecular and cellular biology are also welcome, as are high-quality papers in traditional areas, such as mechanics of breathing; gas exchange and acid-base balance; respiration at rest and exercise; respiration in unusual conditions, like high or low pressure or changes of temperature, low ambient oxygen; embryonic and adult respiration; comparative respiratory physiology.
Undersea and Hyperbaric Medicine The Undersea and Hyperbaric Medicine is the UHMS' quarterly, peer-reviewed journal.

Databases

Academic OneFile Academic OneFile has 9,000 full-text journals, new sources, mazazines, and other authoritative resources. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Updated daily. If prompted for a password, enter navy.
IOPscience IOPscience is an online service for journal content published by IOP Publishing. IOPscience embraces innovative technologies to make it easier for researchers to access scientific, technical and medical content.
Marine Technology Abstracts The Marine Technology Abstracts database contains bibliographic information for more than 125,000 technical articles, reports, books, conference and transaction papers and other material on all aspects of maritime technology, dating as far back as 1940. Topics covered include: Ship and vessel descriptions; Design and construction; Ship powering, equipment, maintenance, repair, conversion; Cargo handling/port design and operation; Safety at sea/environmental protection; Coastal and ocean engineering/offshore technology; Fluid mechanics, hydrodynamics, hydraulics and aerodynamics; Ship resistance and propulsion, motions, seakeeping and manoeuvring; Structural response, material properties, corrosion and fouling; Naval vessels and defence technology.
PubMed PubMed is a free search engine accessing primarily the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics.
Scopus Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.
Worldwide Science A global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals, WorldWideScience.org accelerates scientific discovery and progress by providing one-stop searching of databases from around the world. Multilingual WorldWideScience.org provides real-time searching and translation of globally-dispersed multilingual scientific literature.

Websites

Alert Diver Online Divers Alert Network (DAN), a nonprofit organization, exists to provide expert medical information for the benefit of the diving public.
Collection COMEX-ORPHY The documents of this collection are the property of COMEX SAS. They have been entrusted to the ORPHY laboratory, which scanned and uploaded it. Being a major player in innovation and expertise in the field of pressure, COMEX maintains a scientific archive from its experimental diving campaigns. The value of this archive is both scientific and historical, as it documents a remarkable chapter in the history of marine exploration and contains results obtained during dives that are very unlikely to be replicated in the future.
Draeger: Military Diving Technology and Equipment Dräger manufactures medical and safety technology products. We protect, support, and save people's lives around the world in hospitals, with fire departments, emergency services, authorities, and in mining as well as industry.
International Society of Aquatic Medicine The International Society of Aquatic Medicine was formed in 1975 by a distinguished group of physicians whose common interests centered on scuba diving medicine.
National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, Medicine The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine are private, nonprofit institutions that provide expert advice on some of the most pressing challenges facing the nation and world. Our work helps shape sound policies, inform public opinion, and advance the pursuit of science, engineering, and medicine.
Naval Diving and Salvage Training Center (NDSTC) The Naval Diving and Salvage Training Center (NDSTC), located at Naval Support Activity Panama City, Florida, is the largest diving facility in the world. NDSTC trains military divers from all services.
Navy Medicine Navy Medicine is the whole of the US Navy’s Medical Support to the Fleet and Fleet Marine Force to ensure readiness both at peace and in combat.
NOAA Ocean Explorer The NOAA Office of Ocean Exploration and Research (OER) is the only federal organization dedicated to ocean exploration. By using unique capabilities in terms of personnel, technology, infrastructure, and exploration missions, OER is reducing unknowns in deep-ocean areas and providing high-value environmental intelligence needed by NOAA and the nation to address both current and emerging science and management needs.
Recreational Diving Medical Screening System In 2020, the international Diver Medical Screen Committee (DMSC) released a new diver medical screening system and guidance to the physician. The following is an overview of that system.
U.S. Occupational Safety and Health Administration OSHA includes health hazards of hyperbaric conditions.
UHMS Annual Scientific Meeting THE UHMS ANNUAL SCIENTIFIC MEETING'S PRIMARY GOAL IS TO PROVIDE A FORUM FOR PROFESSIONAL SCIENTIFIC GROWTH AND DEVELOPMENT OF THE PARTICIPANTS TO IMPROVE KNOWLEDGE AND COMPETENCE IN ORDER TO FURTHER PATIENT OUTCOME.

Books

Click the Books & EBooks Tab Above to see even more books.

Deco for divers : a diver's guide to decompression theory and physiology by Powell, Mark Fully updated and revised. Award winning Deco for Divers provides a comprehensive overview of the principles underlying decompression theory. This book bridges the gap between introductory books and source scientific information. It provides the reader with a clear understanding of the decompression principles which apply to every dive.
Call Number: *Available by Request
ISBN: 9781905492299
Publication Date: 2014
Diving and Subaquatic Medicine by Carl Edmonds; Michael Bennett; John Lippmann; Simon Mitchell Considered an essential resource by many in the field, Diving and Subaquatic Medicine remains the leading text on diving medicine, written to fulfil the requirements of any general physician wishing to advise their patients appropriately when a diving trip is planned, for those accompanying diving expeditions or when a doctor is required to assess and treat anyone who has been involved in a diving accident.
Call Number: *Available by Request
ISBN: 9781482260120
Publication Date: 2015-09-11

Professional Associations

American Academy of Underwater Science (AAUS) The mission of the American Academy of Underwater Sciences (AAUS) is to advance and facilitate safe and productive scientific diving. The AAUS was officially chartered in California in 1983 by individuals and organizations involved in the effort to obtain the scientific diving exemption from OSHA commercial diving standards.
American Board of Emergency Medicine The American Board of Emergency Medicine (ABEM) certifies emergency physicians who meet its educational, professional, and examination standards. Certification by ABEM demonstrates expertise in Emergency Medicine.
American Medical Association Founded in 1847, the American Medical Association (AMA) is the largest and only national association that convenes 190+ state and specialty medical societies and other critical stakeholders. Throughout history, the AMA has always followed its mission: to promote the art and science of medicine and the betterment of public health.
Association of Diving Contractors International ADCI represents the commercial diving industry around the world. Founded in 1968, the Association of Diving Contractors International, Inc. was originally a small group of diving companies with a goal to create a nonprofit organization dedicated to the art and science of commercial diving. The establishment of industry-wide safe standards for commercial diving was the foundation upon which ADCI was built. Since then, ADCI has grown to encompass more than 600 member companies, furnishing services and/or support for the conduct of safe underwater operations from 41 nations throughout the world.
DAN: Divers Alert Network The world’s most recognized and respected dive safety organization, Divers Alert Network (DAN) has remained committed to the health and well-being of divers for 40 years. The organization’s research, medical services and global-response programs create an extensive network that supports divers with vital services such as injury prevention, safety and educational programs and lifesaving evacuations. Every year, hundreds of thousands of divers around the world look to DAN as their dive safety organization.
European Committee for Hyperbaric Medicine (ECHM) The scope and goals of the European Committee for Hyperbaric Medicine (ECHM) are defined as follows: Studying and defining common indications for hyperbaric therapy, research and therapy protocols, common standards for therapeutic and technical procedures, equipment and personnel, cost-benefit and cost-effectiveness criteria. Acting as a representative body with the European health authorities. Promoting further cooperation among existing scientific organizations involved in the field of Diving and Hyperbaric Medicine.
International Board of Undersea Medicine IBUM exists to train recompression chamber operators, Diving Medical Technicians, Advanced Diving Medical Technicians, Intermediate Hyperbaric Technicians, Advanced Clinical Hyperbaric Technicians and Hyperbaric Physicians as well as educate and increase safety for those who work in the hyperbaric field and certify facilities to the highest international standard.
National Association of Underwater Instructors NAUI the National Association of Underwater Instructors, is a not-for-profit 501(c)(6) worldwide educational association dedicated to promoting 'Dive Safety Through Education'.
Navy Divers Association The purpose of this association is for the enjoyment of and passing along information to all active, inactive and retired Navy Divers and Diver Support Personnel.
South Pacific Underwater Medicine Society (SPUMS) The purpose of the society is: to promote and facilitate the study of all aspects of underwater and hyperbaric medicine; to provide information on underwater and hyperbaric medicine; to promote communication between members and to publish a journal; to convene members annually at a scientific conference and to hold meetings and other activities to inform, and to develop fellowship and friendship amongst members.
Undersea & Hyperbaric Medical Society The Undersea and Hyperbaric Medical Society (UHMS) is an international non-profit organization serving members from more than 35 countries. The UHMS is the primary source of scientific information for diving and hyperbaric medicine physiology worldwide.

Start Your Research Here....

Request a TDNet/OpenAthens Account
Note: Available to Research Commons users at Atlantic, Carderock, Corona, Crane, DTRA, Indian Head, Keyport, Newport, Panama City, US Naval Observatory, and Office of Naval Research.

Find Even More Books!

Request a Book

Search Google Scholar

Questions? Contact Us

Research Commons Staff

Email Me

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>