Assessment of Diving Medical Fitness for Scuba Divers and Instructors by
Diving instructors are often the first person to screen a person's fitness for diving. Bennett (Duke U. Medical Center, Durham, North Carolina) and other specialists in the diving and hyperbaric medicine field offer guidelines on how to assess the fitness of a prospective/certified diver, when to consult a physician, and how to manage problems that arise. They also address the special needs of the growing number of older, female, and handicapped divers.
Bennett and Elliotts' Physiology and Medicine of Diving by
This thoroughly updated edition, considered the 'bible' in this field since 1969, offers in-depth coverage of the physiological basis of safe diving and the pathogenesis of diving illnesses; the clinical diagnosis and management of diving disorders; and current equipment design and its practical clinical applications. Also covered is a current understanding of central nervous system pathology, contemporary decompression theories, and state-of-the-art treatment protocols for decompression, drowning and hypothermia.
Biophysics and Diving Decompression Phenomenology by 
Contamination Risk for Underwater Divers (CRUD) Workshop Proceedings by
The Contamination Risk for Underwater Divers CRUD Workshop was convened by the Office of Naval Research ONR and Naval Information Warfare Center Pacific NIWC Pacific to facilitate an open forum and dialogue between contaminated water diving CWD community stakeholders, for purposes of discussing diving concerns related to aquatic environmental contamination, which can be characterized within a risk framework. The workshop was focused on the identification and evaluation of critical aspects of chemical and biological hazards at dive sites that may drive potential risk associated with diving in contaminated water. Particular emphasis was placed on the sharing of known impacts, potential challenges and solutions, and experiences, including lessons learned, that might lead to synergies amongst CWD stakeholders going forward. The workshop initially focused on developing a problem statement from a high-level perspective that would serve as a starting point from which discussion by participants would commence in order to identify and incorporate important aspects that were necessary for consensus-building. The following proceedings capture the details of topics and related free-flowing discussions as they occurred in real time, and in an appropriate level of detail, with the goal of providing the reader with a sense of current issues that are germane to CWD risk.
Deco for divers : a diver's guide to decompression theory and physiology by
Fully updated and revised. Award winning Deco for Divers provides a comprehensive overview of the principles underlying decompression theory. This book bridges the gap between introductory books and source scientific information. It provides the reader with a clear understanding of the decompression principles which apply to every dive.
Decompression -- Decompression Sickness by
The Laboratory of Hyperbaric Physiology of the Medical Clinic of the University of Zurich came into existence in 1960 thanks to private initiative and a readiness to undertake risks; the success ful start was made possible with help from the French Navy and the United States Navy.
Diver Down by
A collection of true stories diving accident stories, most of them involving diver error and resulting in serious injury or death. Each of these tales is accompanied by an in-depth analysis of what went wrong and how you can recognize, avoid, and respond to similar underwater calamities. This unique survival guide explores the gamut of diving situations, including cave and wreck diving, deep-water dives, river and drift diving, decompression sickness, and much more.
Diving and Subaquatic Medicine by
Considered an essential resource by many in the field, Diving and Subaquatic Medicine remains the leading text on diving medicine, written to fulfil the requirements of any general physician wishing to advise their patients appropriately when a diving trip is planned, for those accompanying diving expeditions or when a doctor is required to assess and treat anyone who has been involved in a diving accident.
Diving Medicine by
Diving Medicine has earned a worldwide reputation as the definitive source on diving safety and the management of diving-related health conditions. The New, 4th Edition has been completely revised and updated while still retaining its practical clinical orientation. It covers basic diving physiology · the pathophysiology of decompression sickness · assessment of physical fitness for diving · diagnosis and treatment of diving-related disorders · and much more.
Diving medicine by
"This book is the very first to cover the decompression theory in detail. It gives many information on all topics of the diving medicine, and is richly and uniquely illustrated. It offers a good guideline of high quality practice in diving medicine. The author provides a very structured and easy to understand book, by covering all aspects of the diving medicine, such as equipment, physiology, and related issues as gas intoxications, venomous animals or damages that can occur in the diving practice. Relevant physiological and anatomical illustrations enlight even complex topics. The Diving medicine book will appeal to health experts like doctors and nurses, but also to diving schools and teachers"
The ECHM Collection by
The European Committee for Hyperbaric Medicine has, during the last decade, become a common referral for state-of-the-art hyperbaric medicine practice and guidelines in Europe as well as internationally. This volume is intended to be the first one of a series, hence the name ECHM Collection, and covers the action of the ECHM since its inception. The multifaceted production of the ECHM will this way be more readily available to the international scientific community. The categories included are listed below and will give the reader a more comprehensive idea of the detail described in this new title. Over 60 contributors include internationally known members of the hyperbaric and diving medical communities.
Handbook on Hyperbaric Medicine by
It is now ten years since the first Handbook on Hyperbaric Medicine was published. During this time there have been many major advances: our understanding of the actions of hyperbaric oxygenation has been elucidated by several studies; clinical practice is becoming more scientific; various consensus-derived organisational and operational recommendations and guidelines are now widely accepted. This book is a reference document for researchers and clinicians, and is also of excellent use for both teachers and students.
Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy: Principles and Applications by
This book covers the hyperbaric oxygen therapy (HBOT) in current recommended indications, emphasizing the mechanisms involved in the benefits of supplemental oxygen under high pressure. The physiological changes associated with high pressure and hyperoxic conditions are discussed in initial chapters, along with their physical basis governed by the laws of gas followed by the functioning of hyperbaric chambers and the safety precautions needed in operating them.
Hyperbaric Medicine Indications Manual, 15th Edition by
Since its first appearance in 1977, the UHMS Hyperbaric Medicine Indications Manual has served as a guide for practitioners and scientists interested in hyperbaric and undersea medicine.
The UHMS and Best Publishing Company are pleased to announce the upcoming release of the 15th Edition of the Hyperbaric Medicine Indications Manual. This will include updates to existing chapters, a new chapter on the newest indication to be approved by the Oxygen Therapy Committee, and a new chapter on the Dosing of Hyperbaric Oxygen.
Lapps and Labyrinths by
The symposium's 28 papers and 3 discussion sessions in this volume include a wide range of environmental research studies demonstrating the breadth and diversity of decompression physiology studies.
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Diving Standards & Safety Manual by
This document represents the minimum safety standards for diving under the auspices of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) as of the approval date of this manual. As best practices in the diving industry evolve, so shall this standard and it is the responsibility of every NOAA diver to ensure that it continues to reflect the latest information on safe diving.
Naval Forces' Defense Capabilities Against Chemical and Biological Warfare Threats by
U.S. naval forces must be prepared to respond to a broad array of threats. Of increasing importance are those from chemical and biological warfare (CW and BW). To help review its current state of preparedness, the Chief of Naval Operations asked the National Research Council (NRC) to assess the U.S. Navy’s defense capabilities against CW and BW threats. In particular to what extent are they being developed to enable naval forces to sense and analyze quickly the presence of chemical and biological agents, withstand or avoid exposure to such agents, deal with contamination under a broad spectrum of operational conditions, and over what period will these capabilities be realized. This report presents the results of that assessment. It provides an overview of the potential threats, and an evaluation of the Navy’s operations, non-medical programs, and medical countermeasures designed to confront those threats. The report also presents a series of general and specific findings and recommendations based on these assessments.
The Physician's Guide to Diving Medicine by
This book is designed to be a physician's guide for those interested in diving and hyperbaric environments. It is not a detailed document for the erudite researcher; rather, it is a source of information for the scuba-diving physician who is searching for answers put to him by his fellow nonmedical divers. Following the publication of The Underwater Handbook: A Guide to Physiology and Performance for the Engineer there were frequent requests for a companion volume for the physician. This book is designed to fill the void. Production of the book has been supported by the Office of Naval Research and by the Bureau of Medicine and Surgery, Research and Development Command, under Navy Contract No. NOOOOI4-78-C-0604. Our heartfelt thanks go to the many authors without whose contributions the book could not have been produced. These articles are signed by the responsible authors, and the names a~e also listed alphabetically in these preliminary pages. Every chapter was officially reviewed by at least one expert in the field covered and these reviewers are also listed on these pages. Our thanks go to them for their valuable assistance. We are grateful to Marthe Beckett Kent for editing Chapter III. Our thanks also go to Mrs. Carolyn Paddon for typing and retyping the manuscripts, and to Mrs. Catherine Coppola, who so expertly handled the many fiscal affairs.
Sealab by
The story of how a U.S. Navy program sought to develop the marine equivalent of the space station-- and forever changed man's relationship to the sea. We learn of men unafraid to test the limits of physical endurance to conquer a hostile undersea frontier-- and of a government unwilling to take the same risks underwater that it did in space.
Textbook of Hyperbaric Medicine by
This comprehensive volume captures the latest scientific evidence, technological advances, treatments and impact of biotechnology in hyperbaric oxygen therapy. Divided into three distinct sections, the book begins with basic aspects that include history, equipment, safety and diagnostic approaches; this is followed by clinical applications for hyperbaric oxygen therapy in various modalities; the last section provides an overview of hyperbaric medicine as a specialty with best practices from around the world. Integration of multidisciplinary approaches to complex disorders are also covered. Updated and significantly expanded from previous editions, Textbook of Hyperbaric Medicine, 6th Edition will continue to be the definitive guide to this burgeoning field for students, trainees, physicians and specialists.
Undersea and Hyperbaric Medicine Society (UHMS) Guidelines for Hyperbaric Facility Operations, 3rd Edition by 
Underwater Medicine and Related Sciences by
This volume follows and updates AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY ON DIVING AND SUBMARINE MEDICINE published by Gordon and Breach, Science Publishers, Inc., in 1971. The time period covered is primarily the calendar years 1970 and 1971. Also included, however, is much material from the calendar years 1968 and 1969 not in the previous publication. A brief analysis of the sources of material precedes the citations and abstracts, which comprise the main section of the volume. The bibliography is followed by a permuted subject index and an author index. Also included, following the indexes, is a micro thesaurus. Although no attempt has been made to do a critical subject analysis, such an analysis could be accomplished through selecting a particular subject, looking up the appropriate key works in the rotated index, identifying the abstracts, analyzing them, obtaining complete copy as desired, and completing the critical review. David C. Weeks, Ph. D. Director, BSCP Washington, D.C.
Underwater Physiology by